7th Asian Challenge Cup All – India Basketball Tournament Commences

On a serene summer morning amidst the beautiful green gardens, one of the most awaited events of the school calendar, The Asian Challenge Cup All – India Basketball Tournament was flagged off on April 25, 2018. The ceremony commenced with the arrival of the Chief Guest, Mr. A. K. Das, Principal, The Asian School, who declared the tournament open.

The most solemn part of the event was the oath of fair play taken by Master Arin Singh the Captain of the host school. This was followed by the first match of the tournament which began with enthusiasm and excitement among students. Many participants were among the state and national level players.

In the Morning Session, the First Match was between The Asian School (B) Vs KV ITBP, The Second Match was between The Asian School (A) & Bishop Cotton, Simla was won by The Asian School, Dehradun, The Third Match was between The Doon School & Welham Boys', The Fourth Match was between Doon International School & Pestle Weed College The Fifth Match was between The Asian School (B) & Kasiga.

In the Evening Session, the First Match was between BCS & DIS, The Second Match between TAS (A) & Gayatri Public School was won by The Asian School, Dehradun.

The players displayed an amalgamation of speed, skill, stamina, strength and sprit. They displayed team work and discipline. The spectators motivated the players and infused energy into them. It was a closely contested match with spectators eager for some splendid netting. The score in the first quarter was 09, second quarter saw the team take the lead which ended with a score of 06. In the 3rd quarter the score was 16. The last quarter saw some tremendous netting by both the teams and ended at 08. After the extra time given to both the teams The Asian School emerged victorious with the score of 39 -14.

The prominent dignitaries present on the occasion were the President of The Asian School Mr. Amarjeet Singh Juneja, President of the Asian School the Directors of The Asian School-Mr. Gaganjyot Singh Juneja and Ms Gunjan Juneja, the Principal Mr. A. K. Das, Vice Principal- Mr. Anant V. D. Thapliyal, Middle School Head, Mr. Mukesh Nangia, Headmistress, Ms. Kalpana Grover, coaches from participating schools and the staff and the students The Asian School, Dehradun.